Insight Investment
Registered investment adviser · New York, NY · CRD #145995
Form ADV data as of 2026-09-01Regulatory assets
$171.09 billion
Total accounts
1,879
Employees
238
Disclosure events
6
Firm details
- Website: https://www.linkedin.com/showcase/insight-investment-north-america/
- Telephone: 212-527-1800
- SEC file number: 801-69964
- Most recent Form ADV filing: 2026-06-02
- SEC record: View this firm on the SEC's IAPD site
Disciplinary disclosures
This firm reports 4 disclosure questions answered Yes, covering 6 reported events. Form ADV Item 11 covers charges and pending proceedings as well as findings, so a Yes answer is not itself a finding of wrongdoing. The underlying detail is filed with the SEC.
- SEC or CFTC found a violation of its regulations or statutes
- SEC or CFTC imposed a civil money penalty or a cease-and-desist order
- Another regulator found a violation of investment-related regulations or statutes
- Another regulator entered an order in connection with investment-related activity (past 10 years)
Assets and accounts
| Provides continuous and regular supervisory or management services | Yes |
| Discretionary regulatory assets under management | $162.57 billion |
| Non-discretionary regulatory assets under management | $8.53 billion |
| Total regulatory assets under management | $171.09 billion |
| Discretionary accounts | 1,812 |
| Non-discretionary accounts | 67 |
| Total accounts | 1,879 |
| Regulatory assets under management attributable to non-U.S. persons | $19.68 billion |
People
| Total employees (excluding clerical) | 238 |
| Employees performing investment advisory functions (including research) | 112 |
| Employees who are registered representatives of a broker-dealer | 25 |
| Employees registered as investment adviser representatives with a state | 0 |
| Employees registered as IARs for another investment adviser | 0 |
| Employees who are licensed insurance agents | 0 |
| Firms or persons who solicit advisory clients on the firm's behalf | 1 |
Custody
| Has custody of client cash or bank accounts | Yes |
| Has custody of client securities | Yes |
| Client funds and securities held in the firm's custody | $18.12 billion |
| Clients for whom the firm has custody | 33 |
| A related person has custody of client cash or bank accounts | Yes |
| A related person has custody of client securities | Yes |
| Client funds and securities held in a related person's custody | $99.41 billion |
| Clients for whom a related person has custody | 784 |
| The firm acts as a qualified custodian | No |
| A related person acts as a qualified custodian | Yes |
| Number of persons acting as qualified custodians for the firm's clients | 3 |
How the firm is compensated
Advisory services offered
Other business activities
Affiliated related persons
Reported conflicts of interest
Form ADV Items 8 asks advisers to disclose arrangements that may create a conflict with client interests. This firm answered Yes to:
- Buys or sells for itself securities it also recommends to clients
- Recommends securities in which it has another proprietary interest
- Recommends securities for which it serves as underwriter or general partner
- Recommends securities in which it has another sales interest
- Compensates a non-employee for client referrals
- Provides employee compensation specifically for obtaining clients
Client types
| Type of client | Clients | Assets |
|---|---|---|
| High net worth individuals | 1,238 | $5.52 billion |
| Banking or thrift institutions | Not reported | $328.4 million |
| Investment companies | 106 | $29.37 billion |
| Pooled investment vehicles (other than investment companies and BDCs) | 22 | $3.92 billion |
| Pension and profit sharing plans (not the participants or government plans) | 138 | $61.72 billion |
| Charitable organizations | 8 | $686.5 million |
| State or municipal government entities (including government pension plans) | 11 | $2.32 billion |
| Other investment advisers | 7 | $26.19 billion |
| Insurance companies | 170 | $19.93 billion |
| Sovereign wealth funds and foreign official institutions | Not reported | $2.55 billion |
| Corporations or other businesses not listed above | 176 | $18.55 billion |